A Catch-Up:

As I write this, I officially have 20 days left in this lovely city. Since coming back from Spain, my Amsterdammer lifestyle has been mostly full of school work and large final projects. I try to do work outside, but recently, it’s been incredibly chilly (or maybe Spain ruined my outlook on this rainy, Springtime weather.) Luckily, the weather here is just as hectic as it is in Ohio, so when I go back home, it’ll feel like I’m still in the Netherlands… just with less bikes and more grass. Besides researching and writing all day every day, I’ve been able to get around the city and explore new places.

Last week, I got the chance to go to Trust, a local café in de Pijp that’s built on the owners trusting you. This means that, you get to order anything from a menu that features no prices, and when you’re finished, you pay what you feel the food you ordered was worth. It’s run by volunteers that will also trade hugs for cute stickers. Inside, there’s a large wall called the “Grateful” Wall, where café goers can put up post-it notes about what they’re grateful for. It’s impressively full of the colorful little papers.

I had the best hot chocolate that I’ve ordered thus far in this city at this café.

This past week, I also got to experience something that can very much be called “an Amsterdam problem.” My bike broke, and I had no other means of transportation! Public transport doesn’t let you take your bike on the buses and trams, so I had the opportunity to walk my bike to the repair shop. It was almost two hours away on foot, including ferry time. Luckily, I got my bike back yesterday and am now able to get places again.

Besides the bike debacle and the lovely Trust café, my weeks haven’t been filled with much other than noticing small things about life in the Netherlands. Like, the neighbors cat doesn’t have any manners at all, and he will enter our house to explore inside if the doors are kept open long enough. There is something that light streams through that leaves large rainbows on the floor, but I haven’t figured out where it comes from yet. Tulips are… everywhere- inside and outside, but also not actually from the Netherlands (they’re Turkish.)

With only twenty days left in this wonderful place, I’ve begun to be both excited for going home and sad that I’ll soon be leaving. I don’t know if I’m ever going to get a chance to come back here, and I don’t want to lose my chance to do everything there is to do. Hopefully, the weather becomes nice again before I go.

Leave a Reply

