The Venice of the North

Today I played hooky to go exploring in Northern Holland, up to Giethoorn. It’s a small town with about one thousand boats within its city limits. The reason that this town has so many boats is because there aren’t any roads! Only around 20 houses are accessible by car, and the rest of them can only be accessed via small boats that go through the city’s  canals. I took a boat tour while I was there and got to see all of the picturesque homes, none of which are the same design. We also boated past a sailing school and got to watch a couple Dutch teenagers almost flip over, which was really funny and I’m sure it would have been even more so had I understood what they were screaming about.

Here are two photos of my favorite house in town! It was the most colorful one that I saw.

Leave a Reply

